I am keeping us.

I started moving on even if it’s not over,
even if problems are just incorrigible yet fixable.

We were together
Almost promising a forever
But my heart, I am not willing to freely surrender.

It was beautiful.
A love we found.
A love we never expected.

He came along without notice.
I accepted him without shame.

I love him.
I still do.
I’ll always do.

But a heart so free
Feral and wild
Slowly created a gap
That silently killed the connection between us.

Two hours away from each other.
It made everything seem harder.

As transparency between our personalities
are shed into the surface
The differences seem to be too much for a conviction and faith as shaky as mine.

I was drifting.
We were drifting.

Away,
Away,
Away,
Away from each other.

A video call with nothing but silence.
An untold yearning I keep with bounds.

I was drifting away.
away.
away.

The silence grew stronger.
Day by day.
I learned to listen more than to speak.

I thought we could be dead.
But I realized that it is in death that the spirit is reborn.

I realized I love him.
I will be his strength in his weakness.
I will be his home in the place we can never call ours.

I realized I love him.
And for now,
There may be some limits.
But I will do what I can to support him in his endeavours.

I love him.
And that means I’ll have to send him away to his dreams.
But our love will grow more profound and meaningful than before.

I. Am. Keeping. Us.
That’s what I always tell you.
You never have to tell me.
Because I know for sure you’ll say the same.

I love you, love.

Leave a comment